Compare

How Ramtek compares, with the sources.

Three tools firms ask us about, side by side. Every statement about them comes from the vendor's own pages, with the source and the date we read it. We say where each is stronger than Ramtek, and where Ramtek is.

These are vendor statements, not tests. We have not tested their products and do not claim they perform better or worse than ours on any task. Competitors change often; if something here is out of date or wrong, tell us at support@ramtekintelligence.com and we will correct it.

Side by side

Thirteen things firms ask about.

Numbers in gold are sources, listed below with the date we read them. "Not stated on the pages we read" means exactly that, not that the vendor lacks it. Scroll sideways on a phone.

 RamtekChatGPT EnterpriseSpellbookCoCounsel Legal
What it isAn AI platform for law firms: drafting, contract review, research, deadlines, client intake and email in one place.A general-purpose AI assistant for businesses, sold as ChatGPT Business and ChatGPT Enterprise.1A contract AI suite: review, draft, compare to standards, ask questions, multi-document workflows and playbooks.2A legal AI for research, drafting, verification and matter workspaces, grounded in Westlaw and Practical Law.3
Where you use itIn the browser, in a Microsoft Word add-in, and by forwarding an email to a private address.In its web and mobile apps. Its plans list Excel, Word, PowerPoint and Google Sheets extensions.1In Microsoft Word, as an add-in.24In its own workspace, with a drafting agent in Microsoft Word and integrations with Outlook and Teams.35
Legal research contentSearches public legal sources: court opinions in a free case-law database, official statute sites, and web search limited to legal sites. It has no licensed commercial legal database.Pages we read describe a general assistant and no licensed legal research database.61Built around contracts. Its pages describe comparing contracts to industry standards, not a legal research database.2Grounded in Westlaw and Practical Law, with KeyCite-based validation and a check that cited authority supports the point it is cited for.3
Contract review and redliningA risk review in the browser or in Word. On Professional and up, a check against your firm's playbook, with proposed changes as Word tracked changes and comments, and a clause rewrite in Word.Chat-based. Playbooks and tracked-change redlining are not described on the pages we read.1Redlines contracts with every suggestion tracked, and turns a team's standards into checklists enforced on each review.2A drafting agent that drafts, edits and reviews agreements in Word, and a table analysis of up to 10,000 documents against up to 100 questions.3
Firm workflow beyond documentsClient and matter records, deadlines with a calculator and a calendar file, court orders read for deadlines, a website intake assistant, an email assistant, and firm analytics.Matter, intake and deadline tracking are not described on the pages we read.1Contract work: review, draft, compare, ask, multi-document workflows and playbooks.2Matter workspaces that combine a firm's documents, precedents and knowledge.3
Price and how it is quotedPublished, per firm: Core $499 a month for up to 3 users, Professional $1,999 for up to 8, Enterprise $1,000 per user with a 5-user minimum. Annual plans are 20 percent less.Priced per user per month. Business plans start at 2 users. Enterprise is quoted by sales.1Not published. Priced by the number of team members on the license, with a quote on request and a 7-day free trial.7Not published on the pages we read. Quoted through sales, with a trial available on request.85
Firm size it is aimed atAny size. Core and Professional are bought online; Enterprise is set up with us.Organizations of any kind.6In-house legal teams and law firms.2Firms of all sizes, from small practices to Am Law 100 firms, and corporate legal departments.3
Independent security assuranceNone of its own today: no SOC 2, ISO 27001 or penetration test report for Ramtek. Its database provider reports a SOC 2 Type II.States alignment with SOC 2 Type 2 criteria and lists ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701 certifications, and regular audits by independent third parties.6Shows a SOC 2 Type II badge and lists HIPAA, GDPR and EU AI Act controls.4The CoCounsel Legal page says "SOC 2 and ISO 42001 certified". The CoCounsel page does not mention certifications.58
Training on your dataNo. Ramtek does not train on firm data, and its AI provider's API terms bar it.Not by default for ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Business or the API.6States its model providers "never learn from, train on, or store" customer data. Its own use of data is not addressed on its security page.24States that user content and prompts are not used to train or improve CoCounsel, and that partners are contractually barred from training on customer data.8
Retention at the AI model providerThe provider may keep a request up to 30 days for safety monitoring, then deletes it. Ramtek has no zero-retention arrangement.Qualifying organizations can set how long business data is kept, including zero data retention on the API platform.6States zero data retention agreements with two named model providers, with customer data "not persisted".4States that all interactions with its model providers use zero-retention API calls. Retention of your own content is set per organization.8
Sign-in and access controlIndividual logins, optional two-factor sign-in, firm admin and member roles. No single sign-on and no per-matter permissions.SAML single sign-on, multi-factor sign-in and roles, and on Enterprise also SCIM, role-based access controls and customer-managed encryption keys.6Uses Microsoft account sign-in, so a firm can enforce controls such as multi-factor sign-in through Microsoft.4Not stated on the pages we read.85
Where data is storedApplication hosting in the United States. The database region is available on request.Eligible Enterprise customers can store data at rest in the U.S., Europe, UK, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Singapore, Australia, India or the UAE.6Cloud data centers in Canada and the United States.4Processing and primary storage in the U.S., with hosting in the UK, Australia and Canada available.8
Record of who used itAn AI Activity Log of who ran what and when, with an attorney review mark and a CSV export for firm admins.Its pricing page lists a compliance API for logs, and its API platform has an audit logs API.61Mentions "audit controls" without detail on the pages we read.2Not stated on the pages we read.85
Checking legal authorityStatutes cited come with links to the public text, and the Transcript Analyzer checks that quotations appear in the transcript. A case-citation check against a database of real decisions is built but not active today.Not described for legal authority on the pages we read.6Not described for legal authority on the pages we read.2A research verification feature checks whether cited Westlaw and Practical Law authority supports the assertion.3
Which fits

Four tools, four kinds of firm.

Choose Ramtek if

You want the everyday work of a firm in one place: drafting in your state's terms, contract review with a Word redline, intake, email, deadlines and court orders read for you, at a flat firm price you can read. You can work without SOC 2, single sign-on or zero retention from us today, and you do licensed research elsewhere.

Choose ChatGPT Enterprise if

You want one assistant across the whole organization, you need single sign-on, key management or a specific data region, and you can write the legal workflows, prompts and review policy yourself.

Choose Spellbook if

Most of your work is contracts, you live in Word, and you want the deepest contract tooling and the security statements it offers.

Choose CoCounsel Legal if

Your work is research-heavy or litigation-heavy, you need answers grounded in Westlaw and Practical Law with verification of authority, and the budget fits.

These are not mutually exclusive. Some firms keep a licensed research service and add a workflow tool, or use a general assistant for non-client work.

Sources

Where each statement comes from.

  1. ChatGPT, Plans and Pricing, read October 19, 2026. https://chatgpt.com/pricing
  2. Spellbook, home page, read October 19, 2026. https://spellbook.com/
  3. Thomson Reuters press release, next generation of CoCounsel Legal (August 20, 2026), read October 19, 2026. https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/press-releases/2026/august/thomson-reuters-launches-next-generation-of-cocounsel-legal-the-ai-ecosystem-built-for-legal-professionals
  4. Spellbook, Security, read October 19, 2026. https://www.spellbook.com/security
  5. Thomson Reuters, CoCounsel Legal, read October 19, 2026. https://legal.thomsonreuters.com/en/products/cocounsel-legal
  6. OpenAI, Business data privacy, security, and compliance, read October 19, 2026. https://openai.com/business-data/
  7. Spellbook, Pricing, read October 19, 2026. https://www.spellbook.com/pricing
  8. Thomson Reuters, CoCounsel, read October 19, 2026. https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/cocounsel

Statements about Ramtek are described on our own pages: Pricing, Security, Where your data goes and the product pages.

ChatGPT, OpenAI, Spellbook, CoCounsel, Westlaw, Practical Law and Thomson Reuters are trademarks of their owners. Ramtek is not affiliated with or endorsed by them.

See it on your own matter.

Seven days free, no card. Judge it on your own work, not on a table.